adventureswiththepooh

An honest take on life and parenthood

Taking the Leap

on July 15, 2013

I’m back. I have news to share and a confession to make.

First, the news.

I left my marketing job at a software company over two weeks ago. I had considered leaving for a long time; well over a year, in fact. After giving it extended thought, I have decided to pursue a different career path as a writer.

There. I said it.

I am a writer.

I know it in my heart. While I will always be a Jill of many trades, I now understand that being a writer is part of my professional identity and has been from an early age, even if I did not recognize it for a long time.

Now that we are talking, I wanted to tell you why I have not posted on this blog for a while.

First, it is daunting to find myself starting a new career at the age of 42, not to mention one that is self-defined and self-charted. I left the security of a clearly defined job at a great company. They paid me well, and also offered me an opportunity to work part-time from home. It was, and still is, a rare find for a working parent. I am incredibly grateful that I had the job, since it came along at just the right time.

However, after I had settled into the job and had a steady rhythm going, I had an honest conversation with myself. Could I do this job, or this type of work, until retirement or beyond? Did I even want that?

The answer: no.

Although I did the job well, it did not bring me happiness or satisfaction. On the contrary, it bored me and created a feeling of constant grinding anxiety. Just because I worked part-time did not mean that the rest of my work world stopped while I was offline. Working at an international company with colleagues dotting the planet over several time zones may have its fun aspects, but it also contributed to my spiking stress levels.

After combating my feelings of guilt for wanting to leave such a desirable job, I discussed my options with both my husband and my health coach, and over the course of a year, I eventually came to the decision to pursue a writing career.

My husband is 100% behind me, and our financial picture is steady enough to take the leap. It means that we will cut our budget back on some things, but overall, my life is so stable that I really had no excuse to delay the career change, except for my own chicken-hearted fear.

When I confronted that fear, I decided that life is too short to waste it by wondering, “What if?”

The Blackstone path, just outside my door

The Blackstone path, just outside my door

Second, I have not posted in a while because I now have a lot more followers on this blog. It has taken me some time to get used to the idea that many of you do not know me personally. It made me feel self-conscious and gave me stage fright, to be honest. However, I also know that this comes with the territory, and I am getting used to it. While I write for myself, I also do want to share my work and ideas with other people, even if they disagree.

I spent the first forty years of my life as a people pleaser (I know, how awful!), so putting myself out there as a writer also runs counter to the way I was wired for a long time. It feels uncomfortable and vulnerable. However, I break one more link in that chain of behavior every week, and this step counts for a whole length’s worth in my book.

So there you have it.

As I travel down this new path, I invite you to accompany me. I plan to keep this blog and post more regularly than I have over the past two months, while I work to ramp up and learn the ropes of a new career. I have children’s books drafted, a fiction novel simmering, and lots of essays and op-ed types of pieces bubbling away. And who knows what else once I am up and running?

Regardless of where this leads, I am happier than I have been in a long time. And perhaps that is all I need to know that I am on the right track.

5 responses to “Taking the Leap

  1. Sofia says:

    Wow congratulations, thats such wonderful news and I”m really happy for you. I would really love to one day leave my official job and do what I would most like to do. I hope to one day share the news to.

    Like

  2. matt says:

    Awesome! Congratulations on pursuing what you want to do instead of what you have to do. Best of luck.

    Like

  3. pgeraldino says:

    Now you will bring more smiles to more people’s faces. That is a wonderful life (and not a bad way to make a living),

    Like

  4. […] Taking the Leap (adventureswiththepooh.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

