adventureswiththepooh

An honest take on life and parenthood

Block Island Organics sunscreen: product review

on May 22, 2014

Disclosure: I received a sample of Block Island Organics Sunscreen in exchange for this post. All opinions expressed are mine and were not influenced in any way.

 

sunshine

Finally, the sun is here after a long and snowy winter in New England. Regardless of complexion, we all want to take care of our skin to protect it. If you are a parent, you also want to shield the delicate skin of your little ones while they play outside and go to the pool or the beach.

The Pooh has fair skin, and my skin freckles easily. Since I recently celebrated my 43rd birthday, I am starting to see wrinkles and crinkles on my face (ack!), so I have even more incentive to protect myself.

With these concerns in mind, I agreed to test Block Island Organics sunscreen in SPF 15 and SPF 40.

Block Island Organics is a Rhode Island based startup that makes sunscreen and sunburn relief lotion. It uses minerals and organics to formulate its products, and works to keep them within an affordable price range.

The sunscreen I tested is a lightweight, mineral based sunscreen, which omits many of the harmful chemicals found in popular sunscreen brands. The sunscreen comes in SPF 15, SPF 30, and SPF 40, and the baby sunscreen comes in SPF 30.

BlockIsland_SPF40Crp

Block Island Organics sunscreen is:

  • Non-toxic and lightweight
  • Non-comedogenic
  • Organic
  • Vegan formulated
  • Paraben free
  • Phthalate free
  • Nano particle free
  • Artificial fragrance free
  • Water resistant (40 minutes)
  • Non eye irritating
  • Not tested on animals
  • Good for sensitive skin
  • Made in the United States

After I received the samples, I waited for the weather to improve to use it (this is Rhode Island, after all). A few weeks later, the sun came out and gave me my opportunity.

The Pooh asked to go to the marvelous playground at Roger Williams Park Zoo in Providence. They have water play there, so even though it was a tad chilly, I busted out her bathing suit and a towel and grabbed our samples of Block Island Organics sunscreen on the way out the door.

We went to the changing rooms at the playground and applied it. Since it is a mineral based sunscreen, a little goes a long way. I dabbed SPF 40 in multiple spots on my face, arms, and chest, and rubbed it in.  It went on smoothly, and absorbed nicely with a pleasant smell. No heavy greasy feel.

I then dabbed it all over the Pooh and rubbed it in. My little sniffer girl said, “Mmm. Smells nice!” It does, sort of minty and fresh. The scent dissipated and we quickly forgot we were wearing it.

We went out to the playground, where the Pooh played and splashed in the various puddles, ponds, and sprinklers they had in the playground area.

images

I had no hat, so I wore sunglasses and hoped that the sunscreen would ward off new freckles on my face.

We played in the sun for the afternoon, and arrived home. Neither of us were burnt, or even toasted. Nary a new freckle to be found on my face. Neither of us experienced any skin reactions to the sunscreen.

I used the SPF 15 on another day when I went outside to plant flowers in my yard, since it was a mild day with minimal sun. I was equally pleased with the lower SPF. It was lightweight, non-greasy, easy to apply, and easy to forget I was wearing it.

My final word? Great sunscreen.

If you prefer products that are free of chemicals, due to family sensitivities and/or personal beliefs, I encourage you to pass over the Coppertone and try this out.

Block Island Organics sunscreen prices range from $23-$27 for a six ounce bottle. They often run sales and promotions, and right now, all of their products are 20% off for Memorial Day, bringing the prices down around $21-$24 per bottle.

They also offer free shipping for orders over $75.

You can order their products online (www.blockislandorganics.com) or find them in one of the following locations:

California

GetzWell Pediatrics
(415) 826-1701
1701 Church Street
San Francisco, CA 94131

Florida

Alys Shoppe
(850) 213-5550
9581 E. County Hwy 30A
Panama City Beach, FL 324133

Rhode Island

Koru Eco Spa
(401) 466-2308
232 Water Street
Block Island, RI 02807

Thank you to Block Island Organics for allowing me to review this wonderful product!

Happy summer, everyone.

7 responses to “Block Island Organics sunscreen: product review

  1. I just got my samples this week. I can’t wait to give them a try over the holiday weekend!

    Like

  2. I LOVE this sunscreen. Anything that doesn’t irritate the eyes and face of a toddler and organic… that’s a win!!

    Like

  3. We love it too! (obviously)

    Like

  4. mkelarsen says:

    Love love love this product! Especially because its local 🙂

    Like

  5. We have the baby block and love it! My kids have sensitive skin and so far have done well. Local and organic is what I’m all about! Love it!

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    Hi Wendy! My name is Heather and I just wanted to know if you would be able to answer my question about your blog! If you could email me at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com I would greatly appreciate it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

