adventureswiththepooh

An honest take on life and parenthood

Why, hello there again

on March 3, 2015

As I look at the calendar, I am surprised (and ok, feeling a bit sheepish) to see that it has been nearly SIX months since I have posted on this blog. Yikes!

I could give you any number of reasons or excuses, but the truth is, I have neglected my writing and my blog as we went through a number of transitions and changes as a family.

The biggest transition was the Pooh starting school. Although she goes to Pre-K for only a half day, from 8 am to 12 pm, it changed my routine dramatically. Also, when you consider sick days, holidays, vacation, and the crazy number of snow days we have experienced in New England this winter, it introduced a new unpredictability to our family life that had not previously existed. I scrambled to adjust. My writing not only took a back seat, it went into the trunk

The second big change was my diagnosis of Attention Deficit Disorder (Inattentive type), commonly known as ADD, last October. After stumbling on an article in the Atlantic Monthly that described ADD in women and girls, and how it is commonly overlooked, I underwent an extensive evaluation by a respected doctor in New England. I came out with a positive diagnosis, which rocked my world, but also helped to explain many of my past difficulties and frustrations. I will tell you more about this later in a separate post, but I am happy to say that the diagnosis has helped me redirect my energies and put me on a new path to realize the kind of life I have always wanted.

It is now the beginning of March, and I am a few months behind on my New Year’s resolution, but given the joy that writing brings me, I have decided to get back to posting regularly here. I consider it a gift to myself and also a way to reconnect with all of you.

So thank you for hanging in there as I have adjusted to a new rhythm of life.

More to come on a regular basis, so stay tuned. Happy 2015!

Mommy Daughter Ice Hockey Night

Mommy Daughter Ice Hockey Night

One response to “Why, hello there again

  1. jgroeber says:

    Right? I thought with everyone attending some kind of school I’d have *so much time*. But truth? Less time! And vacations/conferences/strep throat/104.5′ fevers/snow days? Zoiks! Waiting for a week when everyone actually goes to school for the contractual number of hours. Seriously.
    So good to have you back! Looking forward to seeing what the Spring brings. 😉
    (And thank you for always growing, always figuring out new things about yourself and reflecting on those. We all need space to do that. Cheers to you and all you’ve accomplished no matter the challenges or learning styles.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

