adventureswiththepooh

An honest take on life and parenthood

A sweet surprise from Grand Central Station

on February 15, 2016
1069167-Lexington-Passage--Grand-Central-Station-0

Lexington Passage. Credit: Google images

The day before Valentine’s Day, I stopped by the Jo Malone shop in the Lexington Passage at Grand Central Station. The elegant glass box of a store is small, as all of the stores in the corridor are.

I could not pass up the chance to browse at my leisure without a tiny curious Pooh or impatient husband at my side, so in I went.

Jo Malone is a scent lover’s paradise. The exquisite fragrances are neatly displayed and easily accessible. A topper with a black fabric bow accompanies each bottle, so you can check out each one without spraying it.

I shamelessly sniffed all of the fragrances there and pined for a few of them. I asked the young clerk, “Is business good for Valentine’s Day?” She told me it had been slower than she expected.

I continued my browsing, looking at the candles and bath oils and other lovely items perfectly arranged on the shelves.

While I browsed, a well-heeled woman asked for a sample of Wood Sage and Sea Salt from the clerk. She tucked it into her expensive purse, and left, presumably for the Upper East Side.

I observed the exchange, thinking, “Hmm. You can request a sample? Interesting.”

A short time later, the clerk offered a cologne sample to me, even though I never requested one. But hey, I love Jo Malone and I was not going to turn down her offer. The products are expensive, so I have not ever splurged on them.

When I arrived back to my hotel that night, I found the tiny box, and discovered that she actually gave me TWO samples! Dark Amber and Ginger Lily, and Peony and Blush Suede. Both were beautiful fragrances that I loved. She was clearly paying attention to my fussing.

So to the attentive clerk at Jo Malone, thank you so much. You totally made my day. I hope karma brings you a delightful surprise of your own this week.

JoMalone_1253x585_1253 x 585_2014-02-13_06-13-01-PM

Jo Malone products. Credit: Google Images

 

3 responses to “A sweet surprise from Grand Central Station

  1. Celina says:

    I am such a fragrance horder and I haven’t even had the opportunity to check out anything from Jo Malone! I’ve finally tracked down a boutique where I live that carries it and it’s on my to-do list!
    Thanks for sharing xx
    http://www.discoveringc.com

    Like

  2. […] Source: A sweet surprise from Grand Central Station […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

